SSC’s 10th Anniversary Women’s Conference a Huge Success

SOUTH HOLLAND, IL – Women’s History Month may have come and gone, the event chairpersons (Alexandra Glumac and Rebecca Garcia-Westburg) of South Suburban College’s 10th Anniversary Women’s Conference now know what others have suspected all along—this year’s Women’s Conference was a huge success!

From the thought-provoking line-up of guest speakers to the exciting display of vendors, women from across the Chicagoland region showed their support for this year’s conference by participating in a day of events dedicated to them. With the theme, “Be Your Own Superhero,” women certainly embraced this motto and came out to hear how they too can be their very best and begin their “Superhero” journey of self-empowerment and improvement.

The event began with a continental breakfast followed by the dynamic keynote speaker, Felicia Houston. Ms. Houston, Community Development Liaison with U of Chicago Medicine Ingalls and current President of the Professional Women’s Network, began her presentation with audience engagement and gave the participants something to hang onto with her version of what each letter of the word, “SUPERHERO” stands for such as S=Strong, Supportive to O=Optimistic, Open-Minded! The participants then chose workshops sessions to attend and from the positive feedback received, the sessions were both informative and educational. An afternoon break with lunch was followed with a fashion show, more sessions and line dancing.

The conference also recognized individual women through the STAR Awards, given to acknowledge remarkable women for their professional and/or volunteer accomplishments and leadership. This year three women received awards: The special South Suburban College Lifetime Alumna Award recognized Coreen (Cory) Clark, a graduate of the SSC Registered Nursing Program. The STAR Award was presented to Erika Gilchrist and an honorable mention STAR Certificate was awarded to Rhonda Zaluckyj. For the first time ever, The Chicago Women’s Conference also offered a competitive selection scholarship for women and high school girls who attended this year’s conference. Selection of the winner is in progress.

With the successful event now completed and the Women’s Conference Committee having seen the fruits of their labor, a special thanks is given to the following various sub-committees and/or individuals for their dedication and commitment to the 10th Anniversary Women’s Conference: Rhonda Browne, Patrice Burton, Felicia Houston, Erica Humphrey, Blevian Moore, Jacki Rivera, Alysia Robinette, Hella Bowker and LaTasha Binder.

More photos can be seen at

2018 Star Award Winner Erika Gilchrist
Pictured: 2018 Star Award Winner Erika Gilchrist.
2018 Women’s Conference Keynote Speaker Felicia Houston.
2018 Women’s Conference Keynote Speaker Felicia Houston.